BankingBanking & FinanceBusinessBusiness & EconomyBusiness Line

Bypoll 2024: Polling being held for 13 seats across seven states in India

Fable highlights

Bypoll Elections 2024: Polling started for 13 assembly seats across seven states in India (Bihar, West Bengal, Uttarakhand, Tamil Nadu, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh).

Bypoll Elections 2024: Voting for bypolls for 13 assembly seats across seven states in India started on Wednesday (July 10). The polling started early morning at 7 am and ought to break at 6 pm. The counting of votes is scheduled for July 13.

Bypolls are declared due to the the dying or the resignation of elected candidates. Right here is a checklist of seats for which polling has begun:

  1. Rupauli (Bihar)
  2. Ranaghat Dakshin (West Bengal)
  3. Raiganj (West Bengal)
  4. Bagdah (West Bengal)
  5. Maniktala (West Bengal)
  6. Vikravandi (Tamil Nadu)
  7. Jalandhar West (Punjab)
  8. Amarwara (Madhya Pradesh)
  9. Badrinath (Uttarakhand)
  10. Manglaur ((Uttarakhand)
  11. Dehra (Himachal Pradesh)
  12. Hamirpur (Himachal Pradesh)
  13. Nalagarh (Himachal Pradesh)

West Bengal

Polling is being held for four assembly seats in West Bengal. There are about 10 lakh voters across the four assembly constituencies, Ranaghat Dakshin, Raiganj, Bagdah and Maniktala. The Election Commission has deployed safety forces to substantiate that a seamless vote casting job across the four seats in the command. About 70 safety companies get been engaged to present safety across 1,097 polling cubicles in the command.

Himachal Pradesh

Polling has begun for 3 assembly seats across Himachal Pradesh, Dehra, Hamirpur and Nalagarh. There are a total of 315 polling stations, and a total of 2,59,340 folks are eligible to vote for the seats.

The three assembly seats in the command get gone to polls due to the the resignation of three people, Hoshiyar Singh (Dehra), K L Thakur (Nalagarh) and Ashish Sharma (Hamirpur) from the dwelling on March 22.


Uttarakhand went to polls for two assembly seats at the unique time – Badrinath and Manglaur. Polling was once held in Manglaur due to the the dying of sitting BSP MLA Sarwat Karim Ansari last one year. Whereas in Badrinath it was once held because the sitting congrees MLA Rajendra Bhandari resigned and switched to BJP.


Bypolls in Bihar are being held as sitting MLA Bimla Bharti resigned from Janta Dal United (JDU) and switched to Rashtriya Janta Dal (RJD). The competition for the Ruplai seat is between Kaladhar Mandal of the JDU and RJD’s Bimla Bharti.


Voting is ongoing for the Jalandhar West constituency. The command went to polls after the AAP MLA Sheetal Angural left the salvage collectively and joined the BJP, leaving the seat vacant. The Jalandhar West assembly seat is a battle between Bhagwant Mann, Punjab Chief Minister from AAP and Sheetal Angural from the BJP.

Tamil Nadu

Tamil Nadu held bypoll elections due to the the dying of essentially the most modern Dravida Munnnetra Kazagham (DMK) MLA N Pughazenthi. The competition for the Vikravandi assembly seat is between three predominant parties- DMK, Anbumani Ramdoss-led Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK) and Naam Tamilar Katchi (NTK) a share of the Nationwide Democratic Alliance (NDA).

Madhya Pradesh

The Amarwara (ST) assembly seat in Madhya Pradesh went to bypolls after Kamlesh Shah a Congress MLA resigned and joined the BJP. The competition is primarily between Kamlesh Shah of the BJP and Dheeran Shah of the Congress.

Amarwara is a tribal-dominated area. There is a chance that the Gondwana Gantantra Occasion (GGP) can also just decrease into the vote allotment of every the Congress and BJP.

(With inputs from companies)

Content Protection by

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button