Bills & ActsCurrent Affairs

Cabinet approved the Major Ports Authority Bill to replace existing law

The Union Cabinet chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi approved the “Major Ports Authority Bill” on 12 February. It will replace the existing 1963 law (Major Port Trusts Act, 1963) that governs the country’s 12 major ports. The announcement was made by Union Minister Mansukh Lal Mandaviya.  Provisions of the Bill:  The proposed law will enhance the overall efficiencies of the ports.  The 12 major ports of India are Cochin, Chennai, Deendayal, Mumbai, JNPT, Marmugao, New Mangalore, Kamarajar, VO Chidambarnar, Visakhapatnam, Paradip, and Kolkata.  The 12 ports together had handled 699.04 million tonnes of cargo during 2018-19.

Content Protection by

Back to top button