BankingBanking & FinanceBusinessBusiness & EconomyBusiness Line

Data Lab | Congress’s first non-Gandhi president in 24 years; mapping the downfall of the birthday celebration since 2014

Mallikarjun Kharge defeated Shashi Tharoor to alter into the first non-Gandhi Congress president in 24 years. In line with birthday celebration MP Randeep Surjewala, he would open his original spot on 26 October. 

Following the implications of the vote counting, Kharge grow to be named the winner of the Congress president election. As per Madhusudan Mistry, chairman of the central election authority for the birthday celebration, Kharge garnered 7,897 votes, whereas Tharoor got 1,072 votes, out of a whole of 9,385 solid. The excellent 416 votes were deemed invalid. 

One after the other, Congress leader, Rahul Gandhi, has been on his ‘Bharat Jodo Yatra’ for nearly a month now. The Congress birthday celebration seeks to revive itself with the three,570-km, 150-day-prolonged foot march that has been hailed as its largest most up-to-date mass engagement programme.

Downhill since 2014

Referring to the seats won in the Lok Sabha elections, the Indian National Congress (INC) has considered a first-rate dropoff since 2014. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, it received 52 seats, a itsy-bitsy rise over the 44 seats it won in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. It exact so happens that it now not has a stronghold in loads of States where it as soon as had one. Occasion contributors quitting the birthday celebration possess prompted it to lose contributors, which has anguish its ranks. Along with the decline in vote half, its depraved of abet has furthermore shrunk.

Additionally be taught | Indian rupee falls to file low against United States greenback, crosses 83-label

The visualisation below explains the vote half that the Indian National Congress got in the Lok Sabha elections from the 1951 first unparalleled elections after the nation received its independence till 2019. The INC had a vote half better than 30% from 1951 to 1984, aside from 1977. The birthday celebration’s efficiency as a nationwide birthday celebration has declined, as considered by the bewitching low cost in seats received in 2014 and 2019, when the vote half grow to be now not as much as 20%.

Flit over the graph for knowledge

Data source: Election Price of India

The political panorama of India between the years of 2012 and 2022 is depicted on maps below. The INC grow to be in energy in 12 of India’s 28 States in 2012, whereas the BJP had energy in fair five of those States. The Congress finest held place of job in two States in 2022—Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh—whereas it grow to be allied with the birthday celebration in energy in Tamil Nadu, Bihar, and Jharkhand. BJP, on the opposite hand, is to blame in 16 States. In the Northeast States in 2012, the Congress grow to be to blame. But by 2022, the BJP had eliminated the influence of the Congress in the blueprint.

Data source: Election Price of India

While there are many variables contributing to the Congress birthday celebration’s downfall, their woes possess been made worse by the birthday celebration’s adamant opposition to inside structural changes, the disaster in its leadership, and its failure to overthrow the unique administration.

The Congress has hit its lowest level, and efforts to revive the birthday celebration by technique of presidential elections along with outreach initiatives love the Bharat Jodo Yatra seem just like the suitable systems to flee the quagmire. This will likely be interesting to ogle a non-Gandhi president be the face of the birthday celebration. 


Content Protection by

Back to top button