BankingBanking & FinanceBusinessBusiness & EconomyBusiness Line

MP municipal polls: Congress, BJP fetch two mayoral posts each in 2d segment

The ruling BJP and opposition Congress obtained two mayor’s seats each in Madhya Pradesh while an fair candidate obtained but every other post on Wednesday, officials stated. Elections for these posts had been held in the 2d segment, on July 13. Overall, of 16 mayoral posts in the sigh, the BJP has obtained 9 and Congress 5 seats. 

One seat went to AAP and but every other to Autonomous. In Rewa municipal corporation, Ajay Mishra Baba of Congress obtained the mayoral election by 10,301 votes, defeating BJP candidate Prabodh Vyas. Congress obtained the mayor’s seat in Rewa for the first time since a straight away election for the post was once launched in 1999. 

In Morena, Sharada Solanki of Congress obtained the mayoral election by 14,631 votes, defeating the BJP’s Meena Mukesh Jatav. Morena municipal corporation is allotment of the Morena Lok Sabha seat, represented by Union Agriculture Minister Narendra Singh Tomar. In Dewas, the BJP’s Geeta Agrawal obtained the mayoral election by defeating Vinodini Vyas of Congress by 45,889 votes. The BJP’s Prahlad Patel obtained in Ratlam municipal corporation too by defeating Mayank Singh Jat of Congress by 8,591 votes. 

In Katni municipal corporation, fair candidate Priti Sanjeev Suri defeated her nearest rival and BJP candidate Jyoti Dixit by 5,287 votes. Katni is allotment of the Khajuraho Lok Sabha seat, the constituency of sigh BJP chief V D Sharma. Polling was once held in 5 municipal firms, 40 nagar palikas and 169 nagar parishads in some unspecified time in the future of 43 districts in the 2d segment. 

The elections had been held on celebration traces. In the first segment of mayoral elections in 11 cities, for which counting was once held on Sunday, the BJP had obtained seven seats while the Congress and Aam Aadmi Celebration had obtained three and one mayoral posts. 

The BJP obtained the mayoral elections in Bhopal, Indore, Burhanpur, Khandwa, Satna, Sagar, Ujjain, Dewas and Ratlam. The Congress obtained in Jabalpur, Gwalior, Chhindwara, Rewa and Morena. In the previous mayoral polls in 2014-2015, the BJP had obtained in all 16 municipal our bodies. City civic body elections for 413 municipalities, including 16 municipal firms, 99 municipal councils and 298 Nagar Parishads had been held in two phases in Madhya Pradesh ?- July 6 and July 13.

That you would possibly perhaps now write for and be a component of the neighborhood. Portion your reviews and opinions with us here.


Content Protection by

Back to top button