T20 World Cup 2021: Theekshana, Rajapaksa shine as Sri Lanka thrash Namibia by seven wickets

Maheesh Theekshana’s three-wicket haul backed up by a 42-scoot knock by Bhanuka Rajapaksa helped Sri Lanka defeat Namibia by seven wickets in Neighborhood A of the continuing ICC Men’s T20 World Cup right here on the Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium on Monday.

Chasing 97, Sri Lanka did now not in finding off to an supreme start as the facet misplaced the wicket of Kusal Perera (11) within the 2nd over of the innings. Soon after, Pathum Nissanka (5) turned into sent inspire to the pavilion by Bernard Scholtz, and Sri Lanka turned into reduced to 18/2 within the third over.

JJ Smit then got the greater of Dinesh Chandimal (5) and Sri Lanka’s innings turned into left reeling at 26/3 and the facet turned into in a dire need of a partnership. Bhanuka Rajapaksa (42*) and Avishka Fernando (30*) then got together on the crease and the duo revived the innings for Sri Lanka. Each batters ensured Sri Lanka would now not suffer from more hiccups, taking the facet over the line by seven wickets with 39 balls to spare.

A roaring start for Sri Lanka in their #T20WorldCup 2021 campaign #SLvNAM |

— ICC (@ICC) October 18, 2021

Earlier, Theekshana’s three-wicket haul helped Sri Lanka bundle out Namibia for 96. Sent into bat, Namibia got off to a perilous start as Theekshana brushed off Stephan Baard (7) within the third over of the innings. Zane Green (8) turned into moreover sent inspire to the pavilion by Theekshana and Namibia turned into reduced to 29/2 within the sixth over. Craig Williams and skipper Gerhard Erasmus then placed on 39 runs for the third wicket.

Nonetheless, when the time came for acceleration, Erasmus (20) ended up losing his wicket to Lahiru Kumara. Soon after, Craig Williams (29) turned into brushed off by Wanindu Hasaranga, and Namibia turned into reduced to 73/4 within the 14th over. Namibia kept on losing wickets at neatly-liked intervals and within the cease, the facet had to pick out for a win of appropriate over the 90-scoot tag.

Earlier within the day, Eire defeated the Netherlands in Neighborhood A of the continuing ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

Transient Scores: Namibia 96 all out (Craig Williams 29, Gerhard Erasmus 20; Maheesh Theekshana 3-25); Sri Lanka 100/3 (Bhanuka Rajapaksa 42*, Avishka Fernando 30*; Bernard Scholtz 1-16).

Content Protection by

Back to top button