Ashes 2021: Australia web Usman Khawaja to squad, uncapped Michael Neser and Mitchell Swepson furthermore integrated

Batsman Usman Khawaja has been recalled to Australia’s Test squad for the Ashes and ought to duel with Travis Head for the middle uncover establish vacated by Matthew Wade. Khawaja, who has played 44 assessments, had been disregarded by selectors since being dropped all around the 2019 Ashes nonetheless the Queensland captain has made a solid case for decision with back-to-back centuries in the Sheffield Defend final month.

“Usman Khawaja has been in extensive contact,” said selector George Bailey. “He brings a aloof, consistent and skilled ingredient to the batting line up and is a proven dash scorer at take a look at diploma. He furthermore has the flexibility to bat across a unfold of positions in the batting uncover.”

Uncapped Michael Neser and Jhye Richardson are the back-up pacemen in the 15-man squad for the first two Tests in Brisbane and Adelaide. “Jhye is seeing the rewards of concentrating on his red ball cricket in the accomplish up to this assortment. All americans knows he has an distinctive talent establish and are serious about what he brings to the group now that his body is back now now not off beam,” Bailey said.

Australia’s squad for the first two #Ashes Tests has been confirmed [?]

— ICC (@ICC) November 17, 2021

Neser had returned to practicing following a minor hamstring stress to retain his establish in the squad, the group said in a negate. Uncapped leg-spinner Mitchell Swepson has been integrated because the reserve slack bowler in the back of normal Nathan Lyon.

Marcus Harris will birth with David Warner after now now not too long ago being confirmed in the slot by Bailey. There became as soon as no establish for younger opener Will Pucovski, who has struggled with concussion points in the leadup, or all-rounder Mitchell Marsh despite his recent match-a hit performance on the T20 World Cup.

The first Test begins on December 8 in Brisbane before the 2d red ball Test at Adelaide Oval from December 16. The Test assortment can be Australia’s first since shedding 2-1 to India all around the final dwelling summer.

Squad: Tim Paine (capt), Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, Jhye Richardson, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Steve Smith, David Warner.

Are dwelling TV

Content Protection by

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button