BankingBanking & FinanceBusinessBusiness & EconomyBusiness Line

India to determine 21 islands of Andaman Nicobar after Param Vir Chakra awardees

Twenty one unnamed islands in India’s Andaman and Nicobar island teams in the Bay of Bengal can be named after 21 males of Indian defense power decorated with Param Vir Chakra, the nation’s best defense power decoration, which diagram the ‘wheel of the excellent courageous’. India’s High Minister Narendra Modi will participate in the ceremony to determine the islands on January 23, the starting up anniversary of freedom fighter Subhas Chandra Bose marked as ‘Parakram Diwas’, actually which diagram the Bravery Day.

High Minister Narendra Modi can even unveil the model of the Nationwide Memorial dedicated to Netaji to be built on Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Dweep, formerly identified as Ross Islands.

In 2018, Ross islands, Neil island and Havelock island were renamed as Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Dweep, Shaheed Dweep and Swaraj Dweep respectively.

“Giving due admire to the actual-life heroes of the nation has at all times been accorded best priority by the High Minister,” an legit observation talked about. 

“Going forward with this spirit, it has now been made up our minds to determine the 21 largest unnamed islands of the island community after 21 Param Vir Chakra awardees. The largest unnamed island can be named after the principle Param Vir Chakra awardee, the second largest unnamed island can be named after the second Param Vir Chakra awardee, etc. This step can be an enduring tribute to our heroes, several of whom had made the excellent sacrifice to present protection to the sovereignty and integrity of the nation,” the observation added.

The Param Vir Chakra (PVC) is India’s best defense power decoration. It’s awarded for displaying infamous acts of valour throughout wartime. The award is granted for “most conspicuous bravery in the presence of the enemy”.

The unnamed Andaman and Nicobar islands can be named after the 21 Param Vir Chakra awardees, as following: Main Somnath Sharma; Subedar and Hony Captain (then Lance Naik)  Karam Singh, MM; 2nd Lt. Rama Raghoba Rane; Nayak Jadunath Singh; Company Havildar Main Piru Singh; Capt GS Salaria; Lieutenant Colonel (then Main) Dhan Singh Thapa; Subedar Joginder Singh; Main Shaitan Singh; CQMH. Abdul Hamid; Lt Col Ardeshir Burzorji Tarapore; Lance Naik Albert Ekka; Main Hoshiar Singh; 2nd Lt. Arun Khetrapal; Flying Officer Nirmaljit Singh Sekhon; Main Ramaswamy Parameswaran; Naib Subedar Bana Singh; Captain Vikram Batra; Lt Manoj Kumar Pandey; Subedar Main (then RifleMan) Sanjay Kumar; and Subedar Main Retd (Hony Captain) Grenadier Yogendra Singh Yadav.


You would maybe now write for and be a fraction of the neighborhood. Piece your tales and opinions with us here.

Content Protection by

Back to top button