BankingBanking & FinanceBusinessBusiness & EconomyBusiness Line

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: BJP releases seventh checklist of candidates, fields Navneet Rana from Maharashtra’s Amravati

Story highlights

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: The ruling event’s seventh checklist of candidates included the sitting Member of Parliament (MP) Navneet Rana from the Amravati constituency in Maharashtra.

India’s ruling Bharatiya Janata Birthday celebration (BJP) released its seventh checklist of candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, on Wednesday (Mar 27) and fielded sitting Member of Parliament (MP) Navneet Rana from the Amravati constituency in the advise of Maharashtra and Govind Karjol from Karnataka’s Chitradurga seat.

BJP releases seventh checklist of candidates

The ruling event’s seventh checklist of candidates involves Rana who had bagged the seat in Amravati as an Independent candidate by defeating Shiv Sena’s Anandrao Adsul in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

Maharashtra will look polls being performed in five phases and Amravati will vote in the 2nd part on April 26.

WATCH | Bihar: Talks over India bloc seat-sharing deal, wide meet in Delhi this day

In Karnataka, the BJP, which is contesting the elections in an alliance with JD(S), fielded Govind Karjol for the seat in the Chitradurga constituency. As per the seat-sharing agreement with BJP, JD(S) will be contesting in three seats – Mandya, Hassan and Kolar.

The Lok Sabha elections in the southern Indian advise will be held in two phases, and Chitradurga will be balloting on April 26.

Congress releases eighth checklist of candidates

The opposition Congress event moreover released its eighth checklist of candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections which had 14 names for seats in the Indian states of Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Telangana and Uttar Pradesh.

The checklist came after the event held its Central Election Committee (CEC) assembly, earlier on Wednesday.

BJD publicizes candidates for 9 Lok Sabha seats

Odisha Chief Minister and Biju Janata Dal (BJD) chief Naveen Patnaik, on Wednesday, released the checklist of 9 candidates out of the 21 seats in the advise in the upcoming elections. The event moreover released the names of 54 candidates for the upcoming advise Assembly election.

A number of of the prominent names consist of Odisha Minister Sudam Marndi (Mayurbhanj) and aged Indian Hockey skipper Dilip Tirkey competing in opposition to sitting MP Jual Oram in the Sundargarh constituency.

Odisha Lok Sabha Election 2024: Listing of BJD candidates

Pranab Prakash Das: Sambalpur
Lambodar Nial: Kalahandi
Manmath Routray: Bhubaneswar
Anshuman Mohanty: Kendrapara
Paradip Majhi: Nabarangpur
Dilip Tirkey: Sundargarh
Sudam Marandi: Mayurbhanj
Ranjita Sahu: Aska
Kaushalya Hikaka: Koraput

The Odisha CM moreover released the checklist of 54 candidates for the assembly elections and mentioned he’ll be contesting from the Hinjili assembly constituency.

AAP’s lone Lok Sabha MP joins BJP

In a significant setback to the Aam Aadmi Birthday celebration (AAP) accurate weeks earlier than the upcoming elections, its lone MP in the Lok Sabha, Sushil Kumar Rinku and one other MLA from Punjab joined BJP on Wednesday.

The switch came about as Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal stays in the custody of the Enforcement Directorate in connection with the alleged excise policy rip-off in the nationwide capital.

Rinku, MP from the advise of Punjab’s Jalandhar and Jalandhar West MLA Sheetal Angural joined BJP in Delhi in the presence of Union minister Hardeep Singh Puri and the ruling event’s nationwide long-established secretary Vinod Tawde.

(With inputs from businesses)

Content Protection by

Back to top button