BankingBanking & FinanceBusinessBusiness & EconomyBusiness Line

Lok Sabha polls 2nd piece: Tripura leads voter turnout with 78.53, UP numbers lowest

Story highlights

The 2nd piece of the Lok Sabha elections in India passed off peacefully on Friday (Apr 26). A quiet period was once noticed at some level of the Forty eight hours leading as much as the polls. As many as 88 seats at some level of 13 states and Union Territories went to polls within the 2nd piece.

The 2nd piece of Lok Sabha elections witnessed the most voter turnout in Tripura with 78.53 per cent balloting, whereas Uttar Pradesh registered the bottom with 53.71 per cent, as per the suggestions released by the Election Price of India.

The states alongside with Manipur, West Bengal, Chhattisgarh and Assam additionally registered healthy turnouts with Manipur at 77.18 per cent, West Bengal at 71.84 per cent, Chhattisgarh at 72.61 per cent, Assam at 70.66 per cent.

The states with moderately decrease turnouts consist of Maharashtra at 53.84 per cent, Bihar at 54.91 per cent, Madhya Pradesh at 55.77 per cent and Rajasthan at 59.19 per cent respectively.

The voter turnout of utterly different states are Kerala at 63.97 per cent, Karnataka at 64.85 per cent, and Jammu and Kashmir at 71.21 per cent.

The 2nd piece of Lok Sabha elections coated 88 seats at some level of 13 states and Union Territories which started at 8 am and went on till 6 pm.

Numerous constituencies that went into polls on the present time experienced intense warmth conditions. The first piece was once held on April 19 in 102 seats at some level of 21 states and Union territories.

Polling was once held in all 20 seats of Kerala, 14 of the 28 seats in Karnataka, 13 seats in Rajasthan, 8 seats each in Maharashtra and Uttar Pradesh, 6 seats in Madhya Pradesh, 5 seats each in Assam and Bihar, 3 seats each in Chhattisgarh and West Bengal, and 1 seat each in Manipur, Tripura and Jammu and Kashmir.

Key candidates

Congress chief Shashi Tharoor, Union minister Rajeev Chandrasekhar and actor-grew to turn out to be-baby-kisser Arun Govil, Karnataka Deputy Chief Minister DK Shivakumar’s brother DK Suresh (Cong), and extinct Karnataka chief minister HD Kumaraswamy (JDS) are among the many key candidates, whereas BJP’s Hema Malini, Om Birla and Gajendra Singh Shekhawat are attempting to search out a hat-trick from their respective constituencies.

High Minister Narendra Modi, within the morning, told folk to solid their votes declaring that a high voter turnout would further give a steal to democracy.

“Fragment Two has been too accurate! Gratitude to the folk at some level of India who decide up voted on the present time. The unparalleled help for NDA goes to disappoint the Opposition even extra. Voters desire NDA’s accurate governance. Childhood and ladies folk voters are powering the sturdy NDA help,” he wrote in a post on X.

(With inputs from companies)

Content Protection by

Back to top button