BankingBanking & FinanceBusinessBusiness & EconomyBusiness Line

India by-elections: Counting of votes underway across six states

The outcomes for the by-elections that had been held across six Indian states will seemingly be declared this day on Friday (Sept 8), because the counting of votes has begun.

That is also a litmus take a look at for the INDIA alliance—a coalition of 26 regional and nationwide parties that changed into fashioned to take on High Minister Narendra Modi’s Bharatiya Janata Web together (BJP).

The outcomes of Friday’s bypolls would give a sense of which the voters are leaning earlier than the identical old elections, the save Modi will seek to withhold his third term.

trending now

Across six states, seven seats saw demanding between the parties on Sept 5. These are: Bageshwar in Uttarakhand, Ghosi in Uttar Pradesh, Puthuppally in Kerala, Dhupguri in West Bengal, Dumri in Jharkhand, and Boxanagar and Dhanpur in Tripura.

Safety tightened, counting underway

Out of the seven seats, three (Dhanpur, Bageshwar and Dhupguri) had been held by the BJP and one every by the Samajwadi Web together (Ghosi), CPI(M) (Boxanagar), JMM (Dumri) and the Congress (Puthuppally).

In the Ghosi constituency, the polling percentage changed into recorded at 50.77 per cent and in Jharkhand’s Dumri a complete of 64.84 per cent voter turnout changed into recorded.

The Ghosi seat fell vacant after the resignation of SP MLA and OBC leader Dara Singh Chauhan, who rejoined the BJP.

For the Bageshwar meeting bypoll in Uttarakhand, the counting will seemingly be accomplished at 14 tables with 130 polling personnel on the job, District Magistrate Anuradha Buddy said on Thursday.

In Tripura, the counting of votes began at 8 am on Friday for the by-elections to the 2 meeting seats in Sepahijala district.

The polling for the by-elections to the Dhanpur and Boxanagar seats changed into held on September 5. A median turnout of 86.50 per cent changed into recorded in the 2 seats.

The counting changed into being held on the Sonamura Girls’ School amid tight security.

Alleging sizable-scale rigging at some level of the polling and declare of no project by the Election Price, the opposition CPI(M) changed into boycotting the counting of votes. The two seats are witnessing a one-on-one fight between the ruling BJP and the CPI(M) with the opposite two opposition parties, Tipra Motha and Congress, no longer fielding any candidates.

In West Bengal’s Dhupguri, personnel of CAPFs and the declare police are guarding the robust room on the 2d campus of North Bengal College in Jalpaiguri, an first rate said.

Spherical 76 per cent of two,60,000 eligible voters exercised their franchise in the by-election.

steered tales

steered tales


Content Protection by

Back to top button